It’s Not You by Ramani Durvasula, PhD

I found this book through a podcast I listened to. And honestly, I wasn’t looking for a nonfiction self-help book to read. I haven’t read self-help nonfiction books in years. Mostly because when I read, I’m looking for escape. However, lately, I’ve been in the BIGGEST reading slump. Like the BIGGEST slump. honestly, the slump probably goes far past just a reading one and extends into my every day life. My life is in a slump and full of a lot of change right now. My world is entirely changing with the fact of I’m about to be jobless (by choice), living somewhere completely new (not completely by choice), and just starting completely fresh.

However, I decided to read the book that went with the podcast I listened to. I really enjoyed what I heard on the podcast. I enjoyed learning about narcissism. I enjoyed learning about the perspectives I hadn’t heard before. So since the podcast was an interview with an author, I, of course, had to check out the book that went with the author. I am so glad I did.

I spent time reading this book. Instead of powering through, I took the time to really read and absorb what it was telling me. The skills and the knowledge it was giving was helpful in all aspects of life. It really led me to do a deeper dive into aspects of my life and really brought to light some patterns.

Sadly, I’ve been the victim/survivor of narcissistic relationships. One of them very recently that I’ve been struggling to heal from and move forward from. This book helped me start that process. I had never considered that I was missing information on how to actually heal and was just putting a bandaid over things.

Did this book magically heal all? No, of course not. It simply gave me more tools be able to work on things and do the hard work. Because healing is hard work and it isn’t overnight. Anyone looking for more information on healing from narcissistic relationships would benefit from reading this book.

I rate this book a 4 out of 5. I believe that it is truly helpful and found it captivating. I learned from it and didn’t find myself rolling my eyes at what it was trying to teach. It was easy to read even though it took me a while to read. The only reason it took me so long was that I wanted to be sure I was absorbing the information so I could properly put the information into use.

Leave a comment