Iron Widow by Xiran Jay Zhao

I found this book on Tik Tok. I had seen video after video about this book until I finally gave in and looked it up. I don’t regret it for one moment. Everything about this book fulfilled what I was looking for at the time. I wanted something with substance but also entertaining. I was looking for something slightly different than I was reading.

This book has a strong female main character that it focuses on. While it does have the usual main male character, this book truly focused on the badass female’s journey. I loved how this book centered around its politics and how Zetian fits into it. I love how it follows her story that started off as a story of revenge and turned into so much more. I can’t wait for book 2 to come out for this one as well. The twists and turns of this book kept me at the edge of my seat.

Per Amazon, this book is 399 pages long, published on September 21, 2021, and rated 4.7 stars. It’s another 5 star read for me. I read this book in a day and a half because I couldn’t put it down. I read at work when I was supposed to be working because I just had to know what came next. Honestly, I’m struggling to find a book that holds up to this caliber and keeps my attention the way this one did.

Leave a comment